Heartbreak, Pain, and Screen Writing

There is something about the creative process that always feels like a slightly dysfunctional relationship. We put our faith in it out of love and our time into out of duty, yet many times all this effort leads only to heartbreak, pain, and sorrow. This can sometimes be nothing less than sheer anguish until we once again gather our resources to try again.  

 

I’ve been there. I’m pretty sure many of you have as well. Whether it involved hours spent rehearsing in band that never made it out of the garage,   

months spent on a novel that only your significant other has read, or… well you get the picture.  Imagine how much more painful it must be to be on the verge of a success only to have the carpet pulled out from under you.

 

Josh Friedman, a fellow blogger, and one of the creators of the TV show Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles is a screen writer who has recently had his show cancelled. Josh has written about this recently on his blog and his candor (read pain) is nothing less than compelling.  Bridges are burnt here and the overall tone, despite attempts at comedy, comes out as raw and ragged. 

 

 It’s a bit of a train wreck, but anyone who has engaged in the creative process will undoubtedly be familiar with the pain/self pity if not the financial success. It’s a good read. Here’s the link to Josh’s blog: 

http://hucksblog.blogspot.com/2009/06/boy-in-bubble.html

 

As I am about to launch myself back into several creative endeavors (playing an open stage, directing, acting?) after a seven year break, I actually find this post reassuring. It’s easy to get caught up in the pain (as Josh is here), but it’s important to remember (for me anyway) that the reason it is so painful when creative projects fail is because of, well… Love. 

 

(Gathering my resources and preparing to try again)

 

7 responses to “Heartbreak, Pain, and Screen Writing

  1. Ohhh, I loved that show. Anything I love on TV is ultimately canceled within two seasons, but usually gets the axe after the first.

    Perhaps its because we don’t have cable and download or buy all our TV when it comes available on DVD.

    Aw, man. I’m part of the problem.

    (Going to go read this article now)

  2. Good luck on the creative endeavors! If you ever feel like jamming let me know. Weekends are best for me.

  3. Thanks for the responses both of you. Meg, I think eventually the TV model will change and people will pay per show that they download off the net or wait for the DVD for the entire season. Very few people watch TV at the scheduled times these days.

  4. I completely agree, Wayne. I refuse to pay for cable, as I find it wasteful and excessive. (I’m trying to scale back on waste and excess in my life). I would pay per show without question, on a subscription basis, streaming or downloaded.

    I know one can buy TV shows on iTunes, but I’m unimpressed with the selection available in Canada.

  5. I’m also unimpressed with the TV show selection on itunes. I love the radio shows though 🙂

  6. I have totally been there. I guess that’s why I try and self-produce these days because I know I can count on myself. Then again, who knows if anyone will come and see it?

Leave a Reply

