Bash’d: a gay rap opera for everyone

On January 14th I saw my first-ever gay rap opera, Bash’d, at the Irving Greenberg Theatre Centre. To be honest, I wasn’t at all sure what to expect from this show. Would this production be a campy comedy? A politically-driven hip hop performance? A love story?

Impressively, the performance is a compelling blend of all three.

Written and performed by Chris Craddock and Nathan Cukow, this is the story of two men Jack (Craddock) and Dylan (Cukow) who meet and fall and love as teenagers. The first part of the performance is about being a gay man in a small town, the pain of coming out to your family, and the giddy joy of finally finding real community after moving to the big city.

After the passage of the Civil Marriage Act (2005), Jack and Dylan decide to get married. Of course, despite the new law, currents of homophobic violence still run deep in Canadian society. This is made evident in an emotionally powerful scene where Jack is brutally assaulted. As the second half of the performance unfolds, we see the impact of this violent act on the couple; the fear, the anger, and then, unexpectedly, something more – a desire for revenge…(Read the full review at the Wellington Oracle. Click here)

2 responses to “Bash’d: a gay rap opera for everyone

  1. Well reviewed as usual.

    I understand that like any theatre company, GCTC has to consider their audience and its’ tastes when crafting their season. However, if they wish to position themselves as activists/allies, the fact that Bash’d might push some subscribers boundaries is *greater* incentive to include it as part of the main line up.

    I wholeheartedly agree that gay rights and more specifically same-sex marriage are issues “for all of us to see and discuss”. So let us see it.

    I can’t comment on the rap/profanity without having seen the show (but apparently I can have all sorts of other opinions). But while I stand by my first point about considering one’s audience, I will suggest that an audience can be agitated without necessarily being alienated. GCTC subscribers are grown-ups, most of whom have certainly heard hip hop licks and a few swear words.

    At any rate, I’m glad you enjoyed show. I’m very, very much looking forward to seeing it this Friday!

  2. I’m glad you enjoyed the review. I’m sure you’ll enjoy the show. I look forward to hearing your thoughts on the performance.

Leave a Reply

