The Facebook

OK I did it.  I’ve joined the Facebook  (pauses for the collective dropping of jaws). I realize it’s shocking. Since it’s inception, I have always been a little leery about putting myself out on this social media platform.  This despite the fact that I am a blogger. You see, a blog I felt I could control since, despite being a public space, I was firmly in charge of the content and could even claim a certain degree of anonymity. (I used to use a generic cityscape photo as my header.) I was less sure this would be the case with Facebook.

FB has always seemed to me like a wierd blur of private/public.  A space that I wasn’t totally sure how to navigate. Do I friend everyone or just my real friends? How do I filter out all the noise and just get information that matters to me? Do I really need more online connections? Wouldn’t real life connections be preferable (Twitter has changed my thinking on this).

I also imagined all sorts of horrific situations where my private life would spill out into my work life. Would this impact my chance at promotion or complicate work relationships?

Later onI became less self-conscious of my Internet image eventually dropping the anonymity from this blog and plastering my face over the top of it in a banner. I also joined Twitter and in a few weeks was making connections with strangers and benefiting from it. After all these revelations, it seemed pointless to ignore this communications platform. In fact, with a Fringe show in the works it made sense to use this tool to reach those who aren’t on Twitter or who don’t currently read my blog and let them know about it. So I signed up for an account.

My first hour was a little overwhelming. I hadn’t even finished  filling out my privacy settings before I had 15 friend requests and 3 wall comments. Suddenly a box appeared with a comment from Jessica. It took me awhile to realize that this was actually a real-time “chat” conversation.

Jessica: There I’ve written on your wall

Wayne: (Thinks to himself. Why is my wall a small square box in the corner of the screen?)

Jessica: It’s sure taking you awhile to respond.

Wayne: Oh! This is in real-time!

That was a lot of fun. Kelly, Nadine (#48 now is off the list) and Sterling were also instrumental in helping me find my way around and getting me to join in the first place.

So what do you think?: Will FB be an effective promotional tool (not the sole tool of course)? Or will this platform just be another time sink/procrastination aid?

13 responses to “The Facebook

  1. FB is good for what it is, but you want to use it to push people to your own site–either blog or show–and/or your Twitter feed. You don’t want FB to be the landing pad they never leave.

    FB, of course, hopes you won’t want anything more…

    But yes, it can be effective if used well.

    • Thanks for commenting. I completely agree. Ultimately, I aim to bring people to my production company site (to be launched in April) and then get people to sign up to a newsletter feed.

      In a way, I plan to use FB like another form of Twitter. Posting links, making connections, supporting other like minded individuals in their projects.

  2. It’s definitely possible to sink endless hours into facestalking. I found the shine wore off pretty quickly though.

    Theatre companies in Calgary seem to generate a lot of awareness via Facebook. Though I’ve often wondered how many people who say they will attend an event via Facebook actually translate into ticket sales.

    • Thanks for commenting Lady Rose. Yes, I suppose it is unkowable how far FB can translate into ticket sales. That being said, it’s easy to use, free, and anything that has the potential to generate a little word of mouth buzz is a good thing.

  3. Just like everything else in life, why not try it and see whether it fits. As long as you don’t post all your trips to the toilet, I’ll be interested.

    One thing, if you post anything that you don’t want someone else to use, wherever, add a line saying its copyrighted. The law on stuff in the public domain is fuzzy at best. Putting a copyright “stamp” on it will solve a lot of problems.

  4. I still think you’re a sell-out, Wayne. The self-righteous characters from Rent would be very disappointed.

  5. sterlinglynch

    If your FB conversion is anything like your latter-day conversion to mobile phones, I worry we all may be getting more than a few pokes from you.

    One way to determine if FB is generating sales is to create a way to measure it. A secret FB code perhaps. If you can’t measure it, it doesn’t exist. 🙂

    • Can you elaborate a little on this FB code idea? I’m curious how that would work. Do you mean a code for a promotional offer of some kind that I only give out on FB?

  6. Dang. And I thought you added me as a “friend” because you liked me as a person…

  7. nadinethornhill

    “The” Facebook. Hee! That’s what my mom calls it too.

    I hear you on being overwhelmed. I felt similarly bombarded when I ventured into Twitter territory. As we discussed in real life, I think it would be helpful if social media communication sites allowed you to remain inactive until such time as you felt oriented. Speaking of which, now that you’re settled in, let’s play Facebook Scrabble!

    • I doubt I’ll be much of a challenge to a former Scrabble tournament player like yourself, but I’m definitely down for a game. I love games. 🙂

Leave a Reply

