The Glamourous Life of A Theatre Critic

I’m loving my life this week. It’s been full of plenty of artsy goodness.

Tuesday, I enjoyed some complimentary snacks and wine that accompanied the media launch of the brand new Undercurents festival at the GCTC. This festival will feature new work by three local artists as well “three of the hottest independent theatre touring the country.” It’s great to see the GCTC collaborating with independent theatre companies to help them find a wider audience. This is an auspicious beginning and I hope to see more of this kind of collaboration in the future.

You can currently buy a three or 6 show pass for the festival. The 6 show pass is $60 which works out to a cost of $10/show. That is phenomenal value, so click the link and get your passes while they last. I’m sure they’ll go fast and seating is limited.

Wednesday, as part of my ongoing efforts to improve my French, I attended Personal Jesus at the NAC. I enjoyed the show and felt inspired to write my first  mini-review for ottawasneezers.com.

It’s worth pointing out that, ottawasneezers is looking for contributions (reviews/previews) etc. from the public at large. You don’t have to be an arts insider to contribute. All you have to do is be able to write a very brief (50 word) note about an arts event. Whether your interest is in theatre, dance,  or visual art, Ottawasneezers gives you a great opportunity to get the word out about all the fantastic art going on in this city.

Finally, Thursday I was invited out to the Cube Gallery on Wellington to see Conor Mcpherson’s St. Nicholas. I will be writing a formal review of this one man show starring John Koensgen so watch for that in the next day or so. The play is about vampires and theatre critics and definitely worth checking out especially with halloween approaching.

So that was my week in the arts world. How about you? See anything interesting?

Leave a Reply

