Everyone Else is Doing it: 2010 in review by WordPress

Well everyone else is doing it so I might as well post my stats too. I hope my fellow bloggers don’t start jumping off bridges. 🙂

As a blogger, I’ve found all this stat comparing useful. I’ve definitely been neglecting my blog a little this year (written fewer posts) with a corresponding sharp drop off in page views. If page views are important to me, and I think they are, then I will have to try to return to my post a week format. Good information all in all.

Here it is the WordPress stats with a little commentary from me:

The stats helper monkeys at WordPress.com mulled over how this blog did in 2010, and here’s a high level summary of its overall blog health:

Healthy blog!

The Blog-Health-o-Meter™ reads Wow. (I think this is like the “participation badge” in the Canada Fitness Test)

Crunchy numbers

Featured image

A helper monkey made this abstract painting, inspired by your stats.

A Boeing 747-400 passenger jet can hold 416 passengers. This blog was viewed about 4,500 times in 2010. That’s about 11 full 747s.

In 2010, there were 34 new posts, growing the total archive of this blog to 77 posts. There were 8 pictures uploaded, taking up a total of 10mb.

The busiest day of the year was March 23rd. The most popular post that day was Carleton University’s Sock N Buskin Keeps it Simple With Urinetown .

Where did they come from?

The top referring sites in 2010 were facebook.com, twitter.com, karaleighsayspayattentiontome.blogspot.com, WordPress Dashboard, and nadinethornhill.wordpress.com.

(Joining Facebook was apparently a good idea for blog promotion after all. I’m also saddened by the fact that Kara has closed shop this year.)

Some visitors came searching, mostly for wayne current, many faces of wayne, night christopher morris, night by christopher morris, and wayne current ottawa. (This makes me happy. People seem to be actually looking for my content rather than randomly searching and hitting my blog by accident.)

Attractions in 2010

These are the posts and pages that got the most views in 2010.

1

Carleton University’s Sock N Buskin Keeps it Simple With Urinetown March 2010
3 comments

2

A review of Christopher Morris’ and Human Cargo’s Night at the NAC January 2010
1 comment

3

My Big Lottery Win January 2010
24 comments

4

About the Many Faces of Wayne March 2009

5

Audition July 2010
4 comments

6 responses to “Everyone Else is Doing it: 2010 in review by WordPress

  1. nadinethornhill

    I’m stuck with freighting containers while you get an entire commercial airline fleet? Colour me green with envy!

    Kara, if you’re reading — I miss you too!

  2. Thanks for the positive spin Nadine. 🙂

    Maybe if we start a fan campaign we can bring back the Pudding and The Post-Fab Princess. I can’t bring myself to delete it from my blog roll. Too many good memories.

  3. I think Pudding and the Post Fab is still open but to invited readers only. Such a shame because I really enjoyed reading her site and seeing pictures of her adorable cat. Can we find out her email and ask to be invited?

    • Welcome to the Many Faces of Wayne Astral. I have word from PFP that she is no longer blogging and has taken down the site (at least for now). There is actually no blog to be invited to (no new content).

      Hopefully, at some point in the future she will start it up again.

  4. Yea! I’m glad I found this. I really liked the PFP blog and all I see if how it is e-mail invitation only and kept wondering how I can e-mail to be invited! This answered my question, but I am sad to learn that the blog is no more!

    • Welcome to the Many Faces of Wayne Kristin. Yes, it’s sad to see PFP go. I think you might enjoy Nadine’s blog: http://nadinethornhill.wordpress.com/ Nadine also writes about fashion, handles issues from a feminist perspective, talks about the arts and is just generally awesome. It’s different from PFP (all blogs are pretty personal) but I read it regularly. 🙂

Leave a Reply

